Apply For A Minnesota Marriage License

What do I need to do to get married in Minnesota?

Besides all your wedding plans, you will need to also get a marriage license if you plan to get married in Minnesota. To get a marriage license, you and your fiance will need to appear at a County Recorder’s office together and file a formal application. You can apply in any county and the license will be good throughout the state.

When should we apply for the license?

Minnesota has a five day waiting period. This means that you must wait five days after you apply for the license until it is valid. Once issued, the license is good for six months. Therefore you should apply for the license at least five days but no more than six months before your wedding.

What are the age requirements to marry in Minnesota?

You and your fiance must be at least 18 years old to marry in Minnesota without parental consent. If either of you is under 18, then the minor must have the parent or parents with custody give consent and appeal to a court for authorization to marry.

What does the application entail?

The license application is usually quite short and straightforward.

Some of the information you will have to report for both parties includes:
- Full name, both maiden and married names
- Full address, both before and after marriage
- Counties of resident
- Date of birth and age
- Social security numbers If either party was previously married, you will also need to provide details about how and when the previous marriage ended.

Is there a marriage license fee in Minnesota?

Yes, you must pay the fee of $110 when you file the marriage application form. You can receive a significant discount if you and your fiance undertake 12 hours of premarital education from a certified provider. If you choose to do the premarital education, then the application fee is $40.  


Bloomington Brooklyn Park Burnsville
Coon Rapids Duluth Eagan
Eden Prairie Maple Grove Minneapolis
Minnetonka Plymouth Rochester
St. Cloud St. Paul

Search by State

To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.

Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
DC Mississippi South Dakota
Delaware Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Hawaii Nevada Vermont
Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
Illinois New Jersey Washington
Indiana New Mexico West Virginia
Iowa New York Wisconsin
Kansas North Carolina Wyoming

This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.


Related Articles

Do You Like This Content?