Apply For A Vermont Marriage License
What are the requirements to get legally married in Vermont?
All couples must first apply for and receive a marriage license in order to get legally married in Vermont. If you or your fiance are residents of Vermont, you can apply for your license at the Town Clerk’s office in the town where you have residency and the marriage license will be good throughout the state. But if you are both out of state residents, you will need to apply at the Town Clerk’s office in the Vermont town where you plan on holding the wedding.
What is required to get a marriage license in Vermont?
Both you and your fiance will need to go to the appropriate Town Clerk’s office in Vermont together in order to file your Vermont marriage license application. The application will ask basic questions such as your full names, dates of birth, states of birth, your addresses, the highest level of education achieved, and your race. You will also need to provide your parents’ full names and states of birth. Federal law requires that you provide your social security number, if you have one, at the time you file your marriage license application. You will also need to provide proof of your identity and age, such as a driver’s license, passport, or certified birth certificate before your license will be issued. Vermont does not require that you or your fiance undergo any blood or medical tests prior to marriage.
Is there a fee in Vermont for the marriage license?
Yes, Vermont charges $45 for all marriage licenses issued in the state. Some towns may charge an additional $10 for a total fee of $55, but this includes a certified copy of your marriage license for your own use. If you require additional copies, you can file a request with the Town Clerk’s office that issued the original license.
Does Vermont have a waiting period and how long is the license valid?
No, Vermont does not have a waiting period so your license can be used as soon as it is issued. Once you receive it, it is good for 60 days. If you have not used it within 60 days, it is no longer valid for a legal marriage in Vermont. If you still plan on getting married after the license has expired, you will need to reapply for a new license and pay the license fee again.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.