Apply For A Canton Marriage License
Where should I go to get a marriage license in Canton, Ohio?
If you or your fiancé(e) live in Canton, Ohio, you should go to the Stark County Probate Court to apply for your marriage license. If neither of you are residents of Stark County, you can still apply for your marriage license there as long as your wedding ceremony is realized within the county. The Stark County Probate Court is located at 110 Central Plaza South, Suite 501 in Canton, Ohio. For directions and parking, see Canton Marriage License. The marriage license division of the court is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. Monday through Friday. You and your fiancé(e) will need to appear together in person.
How do I know if I am eligible to get a marriage license in Canton, Ohio?
To be eligible to receive a marriage license in Canton, Ohio, you should be at least 18 years of age and single. You need to present a valid form of photo I.D. such as a driver’s license at the Stark County Probate Court. You and your fiancé(e) can be no more closely related than second cousins. Also, the Court will not issue a marriage license when either applicant is intoxicated or infected with a communicable form of syphilis.
Are there additional requirements that I need to meet if I have been divorced?
If you have been divorced, you need to submit a certified copy of your divorce decree to the Stark County Probate Court at the time that you apply for a marriage license. You will also need to provide the names of your previous spouse and any children from the previous marriage.
Are there additional requirements that I need to meet if I am under 18 years of age?
If you are a male under 18 years of age or a female under 16 years of age, you will not be able to receive a marriage license in Canton, Ohio without permission from the Juvenile Court. Also, if you are under 18 years of age, you will need to have parental consent and a letter witnessing that you have received pre-marital counseling.
Are blood tests required by the Stark County Probate Court?
No. Stark County does not require that applicants submit to blood tests.
How much is the marriage license fee that I need to pay in Canton, Ohio?
To be issued a marriage license in Canton, Ohio, you need to pay the marriage license fee of $42.00.
How soon do I need to use my marriage license in Canton, Ohio?
There is no longer a waiting period to use marriage licenses in Stark County, so you will be able to use your marriage license right away if you wish. You need to use your marriage license within 60 days after the marriage license has been issued.
Who should I invite to perform my wedding ceremony in Canton, Ohio?
You should invite someone authorized to perform marriages in Ohio to perform your wedding ceremony in Canton. Authorized persons include religious clergy members, judges, and mayors. To learn more about who is authorized to perform wedding ceremonies in Canton, see Canton Marriage License.
How much will my marriage certificate cost in Canton, Ohio?
You can order certified copies of your marriage certificate from the Stark County Probate Court for a fee of $2.00 each. You may order your certified copies in person or by mail. To learn more, see Canton Marriage License.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.