Do You Wish to Marry in Deltona, Florida?
You and your spouse to be will need to visit one of the Clerk of Circuit Courts locations in Volusia County to apply for a marriage license. Those that are over the age of 18 will bring identification such as a birth certificate or a photo ID, along with information regarding any previous marriages (termination, date, etc) and the marriage license fees. If you and your bride or groom have completed a marriage preparation course, you will need to bring proof of completion with you as well. The courthouses are located at the following addresses:
Volusia County Courthouse:
101 N. Alabama Avenue DeLand,
FL 32724 Daytona Beach Courthouse Annex:
125 E. Orange Avenue Daytona Beach,
FL 32114 New Smyrna Beach Courthouse Annex:
124 N Riverside Drive New Smyrna Beach,
If you wish to mail any correspondence to the Clerk of Circuit Courts, their mailing address is:
Clerk of Circuit Court
P.O. Box 6043
DeLand, FL 32721-6043
The phone number for information is (386) 822-5710.
Are There Other Requirements for Obtaining a Marriage License in Deltona, Florida?
All Florida residents are required to observe a three-day waiting period after they have been issued their marriage license to marry in Deltona. Those couples that are traveling to Florida from out of state will not have to adhere to the mandatory three-day waiting period, nor will those that have completed a premarital preparation course. The course providers in the Deltona area are listed on the Volusia County website for review. Some providers charge for their courses and the couple is responsible for paying the fees.
No couple is required to attend the premarital courses, though they will receive a discount on their marriage license costs and will not have to wait to marry after receiving their marriage license. Couples over the age of 18 can pre-register for their marriage license online on website of Volusia County up to 45 days before they actually visit the Clerk of Courts to apply in person for their marriage license. All couples marrying in Deltona will need to read the Family Law Handbook and give a written oath that they are familiar with its contents. The Family Law Handbook can be seen online on the Volusia County website.
What Is the Cost for a Deltona, FL Marriage License?
A marriage license in Deltona will cost $93.50 for couples that elect not to attend the premarital preparation courses, and $61.00 for couples that can present a certificate of completion for the courses. The cost of a marriage license will be due at the time of application and can be paid by cash, money order, or major credit card. If you choose, you may have your marriage ceremony preformed by a Clerk or Deputy Clerk of Courts for an additional fee of $30.00
How Long is a Marriage License Valid?
After receiving your marriage license, you can marry in any of the 67 counties of Florida within 60 days. If you do not use your marriage license within the 60-day time window, your marriage license will expire and you will be required to apply for a new one.
Will Minors Be Issued a Marriage License in Deltona, Florida?
Minors under the age of 18 will need to present written permission from parents to marry in Deltona, Florida unless they have been previously married. If a minor is under the age of 16, other conditions will need to be met in order to be issued a marriage license. Both parties will have to swear under oath that they are the parents of, or are expecting a child together. In the case of a pregnancy, a doctor’s verification will be required as well.
Do You Need More Information?
Contact the Clerk of Circuit Courts by calling for general information at (386) 822-5710 or by visiting the nearest courthouse in Volusia County. The Volusia County website yields helpful information and links for those that are planning to marry in Deltona, Florida.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE