Apply For A Pensacola Marriage License
Are You Marrying in Pensacola, Florida?
Those over the age of 18 that wish to marry in Pensacola will need to apply for a marriage license together at the Clerk of the Circuit Court of Escambia County. You may apply for your marriage license between the hours of 8:00am and 5:00pm Monday through Friday at the One Stop Division or the Century Division.
Are You a Minor Seeking a Marriage License in Pensacola, Florida?
If you are under the age of 18 and at least 16 and wish to marry, you will need to have written consent by parents or guardian of the minor who is obtaining a marriage license. If the minor has been previously married, no consent is needed. If the minors that are wishing to marry can prove that they are the parents or expectant parents of a child, or if the minor(s) have been previously married, then a parental consent may be waived at the discretion of the county court judge.
Do You Have the Proper Identification to Apply for a Pensacola, Florida Marriage License?
You will need to produce a valid form of ID ranging from a passport to a state issued ID card to a military ID and a social security card. If you do not have a social security number, you may provide your alien registration number. If you do not have a social security number or an alien registration number, contact the Clerk of Circuit Courts by calling (850)595-4310 to discuss acceptable alternative forms of ID.
Where Do You Apply for a Pensacola, FL Marriage License?
Escambia County Clerk of Circuit Courts:
Billy G. Ward Century Courthouse
7500 N. Century Blvd (Hwy 29)
One Stop Division
First Floor, M.C. Blanchard Judicial Building
190 Governmental Center
Pensacola, Florida 32502
Are You Required to Pay for a Marriage License in Pensacola, Florida?
All couples will be required to pay for their marriage license, and the amount will depend on if both parties have completed a marriage preparation course within the year prior to applying for a marriage license. If a couple chooses to attend and complete a course, the cost of their marriage license will be reduced from $93.50 to $61.00. A $30.00 fee will be applied to couples that are planning to have their marriage ceremony preformed at the clerk’s office.
What About a Waiting Period?
All residents of Florida are required to wait three days after receiving their marriage license to have their marriage ceremony. This three-day waiting period is not applied to non-residents of the Florida or if the couple has opted to enroll and complete a premarital preparation course.
Where Can You Find Information Pertaining to a Marriage Preparedness Course?
There is a link online on the Pensacola Marriage License for a list of premarital course providers. The couple may need to pay for their premarital preparation courses and when they have been completed, a certificate of completion or some other form of proof will likely be needed to have the waiting period waived and the cost of the marriage license reduced. While the pre-marriage courses are not required, each couple that marries in Florida will be required to read and be familiar with the Family Law Handbook which is a public service pamphlet published by the Florida Family Law Bar. You can find a link to the Family Law Handbook information on the Pensacola Marriage License.
What Documentation Do Those Who Have Been Previously Married Need to Provide?
If you or the person that you intend to marry have been married in the past, you will need to have the exact date and the reason that any previous marriage ended. If you are not sure of the exact date, you may contact the Florida Department of Health Office of Vital Statistics for divorce decrees and death certificates. If the divorce or death did not occur in Florida, the appropriate state department of vital statistics should be contacted.
Whom Should You Contact for More Information in Pensacola, Florida?
Browse the Escambia County website for information and helpful links pertaining to marriage licenses in Pensacola, FL. You may visit either of the above addresses for information and to apply for your marriage license. If you would prefer to contact them by phone, call (850)595-4310.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.