Apply For A Lakeland Marriage License
Are You Looking for Information About Marriage Licenses in Lakeland, Florida?
If you are planning to marry in Lakeland, Florida, you will need to be over the age of 18, or, if you are under 18, but over the age of 16, you may apply for a marriage license with parental permission, and with certain documentation. This documentation includes a birth certificate bearing the names of both parents of the minor, and a notarized parental consent. If the parent or parents of the minor are deceased they will need to provide a death certificate. In the event that one parent has sole custody of the minor, the parent who has been granted sole custody would be the only parental consent required.
If either party wishing to marry is under the age of 16, there must be proof of a child or an expectant child of the couple wishing to marry. If the couple is expectant parents, a physician’s written verification will be required as proof of pregnancy. If a minor wishing to marry has been married previously, they are only required to have proper identification to apply for a marriage license. Proper ID for those minors who have been previously married or who are over the age of 18 includes a driver’s license, state issued ID card, military ID, passport, etc. If you do not have proper ID or have any questions concerning applying for a marriage license in Lakeland, FL, contact the Polk County Clerk of Circuit Courts by calling (863) 534-4540 for more information.
What Are the Requirements for Couples Wishing to Marry in Lakeland, Florida?
Couples are required to pay a $93.50 fee for a marriage license in Polk County, and will need to marry within 60 days of receiving their license. If a couple opts to engage in pre-marriage counseling, their marriage license fees are reduced to $61.00. If one or both of the parties wishing to marry are Florida residents, there will be a mandatory three-day waiting period between being issued their marriage license and being married. Non-Florida residents do not have to observe this waiting period. Couples who have attended a premarital preparation course will not have to wait to marry. All couples will need to bring a valid form of ID for a marriage license.
Approved ID includes a valid state issued ID card, a military ID, a passport, a valid driver’s license, etc. Both parties will need to have a social security number or a resident alien card, a naturalization certificate, or a citizenship certificate. If the couple wishing to marry has any children together, they will need to complete an affirmation of common children form to be turned in when they apply for their marriage license. This form is available online from the Polk County Marriage License and will cost $7.00. All couples will need to read and be familiar with the Family Law Handbook, which is available for review online on the Polk County Marriage License.
Where Can You Apply for a Marriage License in Lakeland?
Any couple that is applying for a marriage license in Lakeland can visit the Polk County Courthouse in Bartow at 255 N Broadway Ave or in the Winter Haven or Lakeland, FL branch courthouses. The hours of operation is between 8:00am and 5:00pm Monday through Friday.
Do You Need More Information About Obtaining a Marriage License in Lakeland, FL?
Contact the Clerk of Circuit Courts by calling (863)534-4516, or by visiting the branch courthouse at 255 N Broadway Ave, Bartow, FL 33830. The Lakeland Marriage License has information that you may find helpful as well..
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.