Apply For A Port St. Lucie Marriage License
Are You Planning a Wedding in Port St. Lucie, Florida?
If you wish to marry in Port St. Lucie, you will need to be in contact with the St. Lucie County Clerk of Circuit Courts. Both parties will need to apply together at 201 South Indian River Drive on the second floor in Fort Pierce, FL. There is an option to expedite the process by using the online pre-application from the Port St. Lucie Marriage License. If you choose to file a pre-application online, you will still need to be present at the Clerk of Circuit Courts to sign and receive your actual marriage license.
Can Minors Be Married in Port St. Lucie, FL?
No one under the age of 18 will be issued a marriage license without a notarized written parental permission. If both parents are deceased, or if the minor wishing to marry has been married previously, they will not be required to provide any parental permission. Minors under the age of 16 will need to contact the Clerk of Circuit Courts at (772)462-6999 for information. If a minor under 18, but at least 16 can prove that they are the parents of or expecting a child together, they may be issued a marriage license.
What Are the Costs for a Port St. Lucie Marriage License?
A marriage license in Port St. Lucie costs $93.50 which can be paid in cash, with a credit card, or by check. If both parties wishing to be married have attended and completed premarital counseling within the past year, the cost of your marriage license will be reduced to $61.00. You can marry at the courthouse for a $30.00 fee, which is in addition to the fees for your a marriage license. Certified copies of your marriage license are $9.00 and a fee for a lost marriage license is $30.00. Contact the Clerk of Circuit Courts for more information by calling (772)462-6999.
What Other Information Will Be Helpful When Obtaining a Marriage License?
• The state of Florida requires that all couples read the Family Law Handbook and then sign a affidavit that you have read and are familiar with its contents. You can review the Family Law Handbook online on the Port St. Lucie Marriage License.
• All couples have the option to attend a premarital counseling session. It is not required, but those that attend and complete the course will have reduced fees for a marriage license and will not be required to observe a three-day waiting period that Florida residents are required to adhere to. You can find a list of acceptable providers of premarital preparation classes online on the St. Lucie County website.
• All couples will need to have a valid form of ID and a social security card at the time that they apply for a marriage license. Acceptable forms of ID include a driver’s license, a military ID, passport, etc. If you do not have a social security card, you will need to bring additional proof of identification. Contact the St. Lucie Circuit Courts Clerk for more information.
• Couples that are not from Florida may still marry in Port St. Lucie, and they will not have to wait for mandatory three-day waiting period.
• If either party has been previously married, the exact date of the dissolution of the prior marriage(s) will need to be provided. In the event that a divorce has taken place within the past 6 months, a copy of the decree of divorce will need to be submitted at the time of application.
• Couples that have not married within 60 days of their marriage license being issued will need to apply for a new license.
• Your Port St. Lucie marriage license is only valid in the state of Florida. You must use it within the state, though not necessarily in the city of Port St. Lucie.
• Your marriage ceremony can be preformed by a regularly ordained minister, a Clerk of Courts, a judicial officer or a notary public.
Contact the St. Lucie County Clerk of Circuit Courts at (772)462-6999 or browse the Port St. Lucie Marriage License for helpful information about obtaining a marriage license.
CLICK THE LINK TO YOUR CITY BELOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE
Search by State
To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.
This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.