Apply For An Arizona Marriage License

How do I get a married in Arizona?

To get married in Arizona, you must first obtain a marriage license and then solemnize the marriage through a wedding ceremony. Marriage licenses can be obtained by filing an application at a County Clerk’s Office and paying the appropriate fee. Some justices of the peace, city clerks, and town clerks can also issue marriage licenses, but this varies by location. The license is good throughout the state for one year, so you do not need to get married in the county where the license was issued.

How do I apply for a marriage license?

In order to obtain your license, both the bride and groom must appear at the County Clerk’s Office to file a completed application and sign the application while under oath. You may also need to provide proof of age, such as a passport, military identification card, or birth certificate.

How much do licenses cost?

While counties may set their own fees, the average cost for a marriage license is $72.

Is there a deadline that we need to get the license by?

No, there is no waiting period between the time the license is issued and when the marriage ceremony may take place. You must obtain the license before you marry but you may marry as soon as the license is issued.

Are there additional requirements for covenant marriages?

Couples who wish to enter a covenant marriage must complete the same steps required for a regular marriage license as well as receive premarital counseling from a minister or marriage counselor prior to applying for a license. When filing their license application, the couple must also sign a special statement confirming their intention to enter into a covenant marriage.  


Chandler Flagstaff Gilbert
Glendale Mesa Peoria
Phoenix Scottsdale Tempe
Tucson Yuma

Search by State

To find more information about a business license in your state choose the state below.

Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
DC Mississippi South Dakota
Delaware Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Hawaii Nevada Vermont
Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
Illinois New Jersey Washington
Indiana New Mexico West Virginia
Iowa New York Wisconsin
Kansas North Carolina Wyoming

This site is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal, financial or tax advise. The information on this site should not be relied upon as an official source of information and should be independently verified.


Related Articles

Do You Like This Content?